The magic of motherhood

This is a picture of me right after the birth of my last child.  Motherhood is such a special gift!  Sometimes I believe as mothers we have super powers.  For instance this morning at around 4 AM I was dead asleep.  I had stayed up until almost midnight the night before so I know nothing was waking me up until the alarm clock went off.  Yet I was woken by a small cry from my six year old.  He only called my name once and I woke as if by magic to help him.  He had wet the bed and was very cold.  He was fully clothed in preparation for the next school day so he was really bummed that he was not going to be able to wear that outfit to school in the morning. He wanted to take a bath.  So there I was at 4 in the morning giving him a quick bath so we could get a few more hours of sleep before starting our day.

It feels good to be needed.  Sometimes I get overwhelmed by motherhood.  All the demands.  But in those small moments like after that bath this morning when your child snuggles up to you in appreciation and love it makes it all worth it.  To see your children grow, to watch their personalities reflect who they will become.  To know that you have a part in it.  We have been entrusted with so much.  A life that we help shape, and in my case multiple times.  Perhaps we need a little magic to pull it off?!

One thought on “The magic of motherhood

Leave a comment